| Power School Parent Portal | Teacher Power School Portal | Web Email |

Serving Hawthorne, Luning, Mina, Schurz, and Walker Lake, Nevada

Mineral County School District’s mission is to promote a culture of student achievement generating life-long learners through professionalism and its accountability for an effective teaching and learning community.




Mrs. Stephanie Keuhey, Principal

P.O. Box 1060     301 W. 9th St., Hawthorne NV 89415

PHONE 775-945-1000   FAX 775-945-1009








April 3rd- Q3 Attendance and Academic Awards Ceremony

K-2nd 9:00AM

3rd-6th 9:40AM


April 17th 2nd-3rd Grade Field Trip to Grossology

April 23rd- 4th and 5th Grade Field Trip to Grossology

April 20th-24th MCSD Book Fair

April 30-May 1st Child Find/Preschool Screening





 HES Booster Wear      

Order Your HES Rocket Shirts from Round-Up Awards

HES receives $5.00 for every shirt ordered online.

Support our Rockets!!!!!!!!!!!


  HES 14-15 School Supply List


14-15 HES Class List





A Message from the Principal


Welcome to the start of the 2014-2015 School Year


August 15, 2014


I hope everyone had a restful summer and is anxious to get back into the swing of a new school year.

As in the past, we believe this will be another great year at HES.

Additionally, we will continue to look to this year’s 6th grade class, the class of 2021, to provide leadership among the student body.


 I am very proud to introduce our new faculty/staff members for 2014-2015. Please welcome all our new teachers.


 Miss Holton—1st Grade


Ms. Williams—2nd Grade


Miss West—3rd Grade


Mrs. Hagen—4th Grade


Miss Darling—5th Grade


Mrs. West—6th Grade


Mrs. Petersen—Special Education


Mrs. Grimes—Special Education


Oya Bryant--Paraprofessional


Taylor Rigler-Paraprofessional 




Parents, please update your contact information (phone and email) in the Student Information page of the packets that will come home on the first day of school,

this is critical to keep the lines of communication open via phone and email as we continue to implement our new phone/email contact information system Alert Solutions.

I would not want you to miss something because your contact information is not correct.

Additionally, parents, please remember that you are again able to access your child’s grades through the use of our online grading system, PowerSchool. 




Our goals, based on the data, are a little different each year, but we always place the emphasis on student learning and 2014-2015 should and will not be any different. 

Teachers cannot teach unless students are willing to learn. 

At Hawthorne Elementary School again this year, we are expecting our students, staff, and visitors to abide by our Rocket Expectations: Be Respectful, Be Responsible, and Be Honest!!




I look forward to meeting and continuing to work with each of you as we strive to serve our students and help each of them reach their full potential. In closing, please know our doors will always be open to our community.

Feel free to call upon us if you should have any questions or concerns.

You may also visit our website and our Facebook page for updated information throughout the year. We know and understand that communication is the key to a successful year.




Thank you for your continued support! 




Stephanie Keuhey






We look forward to seeing you all on Wednesday the 20th!!






 Help Support our School Sign-up for Escrip   

Our school number is 137629365

 Holiday-No School






Stephanie   Keuhey

School   Secretary

Ann Kee/Erika   Sanchez

Pre-K Teacher

Teri Arends

School Counselor


Kindergarten   Teachers

Stacie   Madrid/Tara Musselman



1st   Grade Teachers

Diana Isom/Ce’arra Holton

Special   Education Teachers

Pam Wells/Amanda Peterson/Dorothy Grimes

2nd   Grade Teachers

Anna   Gavin/Shannon Williams



3rd Grade   Teachers

Tricia   Schuman/Nicole West

Speech   Therapist

Holly Qualls

4th   Grade Teachers

Mary Jo Gemelke/Schyler Hagen

School Nurse

Holly Pellett

5th   Grade Teachers

Mary Jo   Gemelke/Tiera Darling


Steve Munger

6th Grade   Teachers

Mike Mayes/Merna   West





Kitchen   Manager

Diana Munger


Susan Schott

Kitchen Aides



Kellie Orndorff




Dawn Kunzi

Elementary   Music Teacher

Emily Cannell


Oya Bryant

Elementary   P.E. Teacher

Marty   Waggoner


Taylor Rigler





At Hawthorne Elementary School we strive to create a respectful, responsible, and honest environment where students learn at high-levels and become life-long learners.



Be Respectful

Be Responsible

Be Honest